The Klang Valley MRT project, which together with the existing rail and bus networks, will strive to complete the long-awaited public transportation masterplan for Greater Kuala Lumpur. The objective of the MRT project is to achieve the target of 50% of all journeys in the Greater Kuala Lumpur region to be made on public transport.

The first MRT line, or MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line (MRT SBK) project was approved by the Government of Malaysia in December 2010 and the construction of the first line was officially launched on 8 July 2011 by Prime Minister Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak.

The MRT will integrate with the Klang Valley’s existing rail transport network, namely the LRT, Monorail, KTM Komuter and ERL, as well as intra and inter-city bus routes. The end result will be better connectivity for Kuala Lumpur and its surrounding cities, while reducing the number of cars that enter the capital.

The Pusat Bandar Damansara elevated MRT station will provide park and ride facility, along with 13 other stations. Pic by MRT Corp.The Pusat Bandar Damansara elevated MRT station will provide park and ride facility, along with 13 other stations. – Pic by MRT Corp.



The first line, totalling a distance of 51km, will start from Sungai Buloh which is located to the north-west of Kuala Lumpur, runs through the city centre of Kuala Lumpur, and finally ends in Kajang, a fast developing city in Selangor located to the south-east of Kuala Lumpur.

The line serves a corridor with an estimated population of 1.2 million people. Phase 1 of MRT SBK from Sungai Buloh to Semantan will become operational by the end of 2016 while Phase 2 from Semantan to Kajang will become operational by July 2017, allowing trains to serve the entire line.

The Tun Razak Exchange underground MRT station is the largest underground station. Pic by MRT Corp.The Tun Razak Exchange underground MRT station will become the largest underground station. – Pic by MRT Corp.



The line will have an underground section for a distance of 9.5km. There will be 7 underground stations (out of the total of 31 stations) within downtown Kuala Lumpur providing seamless connection and a hassle-free travel experience to nearby plazas and walkways leading to the nearest offices, apartments, shopping malls and tourist attractions.

Each train serving the line will have four coaches having a total capacity of 1,200 passengers. Each train will be driverless. The daily expected ridership is about 442,000 passengers. The train service is expected to run at an interval of 3.5 minutes.

Since 30 May 2013, the world's first Variable Density Tunnel Boring Machine has been tunnelling beneath the city of Kuala Lumpur. It was commenced at the Cochrane Launch Shaft. – Pic by MRT CorpSince 30 May 2013, the world’s first Variable Density Tunnel Boring Machine has been tunnelling beneath the city of Kuala Lumpur. It was commenced at the Cochrane Launch Shaft. – Pic by MRT Corp




Proposed Line Colour :   Green Total Length :
  51km     (9.5km of which are underground) Total No. of Station :
  31 stations     (7 of which are underground) Total No. of Station with :
Park & Ride Facility  
  14 stations Total No. of Station with :
  Feeder Bus Facility  
  25 stations Largest Station :   Tun Razak Exchange Station (Underground) Provisional Stations :   Another 3 proposed stations to be built in the future     (RRI, Teknologi and Bukit Kiara) Total No. of Train Depot :   2 depots     (Sungai Buloh and Kajang) Full Operation :   Phase 1 – December 2016     Phase 2 – July 2017 Project Delivery Partner :   MMC Gamuda KVMRT (PDP) Sdn Bhd Tunnel Works Contractor :   MMC Gamuda KVMRT (T) Sdn Bhd Train Supplier :   Siemens AG-SMH Rail Sdn Bhd Consortium Train Designer :   BMW Group DesignWorks, USA Train Body Manufacturer :   CSR Nanjing Puzhen Rolling Stock Co. Ltd, China Train Rolling Stock Model :   Siemens Inspiro Train Driver :   Driverless Train Assembly Plant :   Rasa, Hulu Selangor     (to be assembled by SMH Rail Sdn Bhd) Train Orderbook :   58 sets Train Configuration :   4 cars per train Train Capacity :   1,200 passengers or 300 passengers per car     (equivalent to 12 bus loads) Train Frequency :   3.5 minutes     (17 trains per hour) Train Average Speed :   40km per hour Train Travelling Time :   30 minutes from Sungai Buloh to Muzium Negara/KL Sentral     40 minutes from Sungai Buloh to Bukit Bintang Train Operator :   Prasarana Malaysia Berhad Operational Hours :   6.00am to 12 midnight Expected Ridership :   442,000 passengers daily Finalisation of Station :
  26 November 2014 Completion of Tunneling :
  21 April 2015

# Station Name Park & Ride Facility Interchange Line Development with Closeby Access to MRT Station 1 Sungai Buloh Yes KTM Komuter,
KTM Intercity,
MRT Line 2   2 Kampung Selamat    

D’Sara Sentral,


3 Kwasa Damansara Yes     4 Kwasa Sentral Yes   Kwasa Sentral (future) 5 Kota Damansara       6 Surian    

Tropicana Gardens,

Sunway Nexis (completed)

7 Mutiara Damansara       8 Bandar Utama Yes Klang LRT
(LRT Line 3) Powerhouse Bandar Utama (office)  9 Taman Tun Dr Ismail     TTDI Ascencia 10 Phileo Damansara Yes     11 Pusat Bandar Damansara Yes  

Damansara City,

Pavilion Damansara Heights Phase 2 (future)

12 Semantan       13 Muzium Negara/KL Sentral (U)   Kelana Jaya LRT,
KTM Komuter,
KTM Intercity,
KLIA Ekspress,
KLIA Transit,
Walkable to Monorail

Q Sentral (completing),

St. Regis Hotel & Residences 

14 Pasar Seni (U)   Kelana Jaya LRT   15 Merdeka (U)       16 Bukit Bintang (U)   Monorail   17 Tun Razak Exchange (U)   MRT Line 2 TRX Lifestyle Quarter (future)  18 Cochrane (U)    

Sunway Velocity,

One Cochrane,

IKEA Cheras,

myTown Shopping Centre

19 Maluri (U) Yes Ampang LRT

Sunway Velocity

20 Taman Pertama    

J.Dupion Residence, 

Dupion Island (future)

21 Taman Midah Yes     22 Taman Mutiara     EkoCheras 23 Taman Connaught Yes   Cheras Sentral (completed)  24 Taman Suntex Yes   You City and Atria Cheras Shopping Mall 25 Sri Raya     [email protected] 26 Bandar Tun Hussein Onn Yes   The Netizen SOHO & Serviced Apartment  27 Bukit Dukung       28 Taman Koperasi Cuepacs Yes     29 Sungai Kantan Yes     30 Bandar Kajang       31 Kajang Yes KTM Komuter,
KTM Intercity  

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *