In Budget 2015, the federal government announced the approval-in-principle for LRT Line 3 initiative that would cost RM9 billion. The new line would begin from the Bandar Utama MRT Station and head towards Merchant Square in Tropicana before cutting across the NKVE to interchange at Glenmarie LRT Station.

The line continues to Hicom-Glenmarie Industrial Park, heading for Shah Alam via Section 13 near the Shah Alam Stadium, then towards Universiti Teknologi Mara in Section 2 and i-City in Section 7.

The train will then travel down Bukit Raja to the Klang KTM Komuter station via Jalan Meru before heading further south for Bandar Bukit Tinggi and finally ending in Johan Setia.

There will be 10 park-and-ride stations and four integrated stations, which would connect MRT Line 1, LRT Kelana Jaya Line, Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) and KTM Komuter services.

The LRT Line 3 will be fully elevated except for a 2km underground section including an underground station on Persiaran Hishamuddin in Shah Alam. The LRT train depot will be built at Johan Setia. 

The rolling stock, similar to those used in the Kelana Jaya LRT Line, will be used. The train can be configured to a 2, 4 or 6 car-vehicle train.

In total, there will be 25 stations along the 36km route. The following is a list of proposed stations on LRT Line 3: 

1. Bandar Utama (MRT SBK Line)

2. Damansara Utama

3. Tropicana

4. Lien Hoe

5. Dataran Prima

6. Persada PLUS

7. Glenmarie (LRT Kelana Jaya Line Extension)

8. Temasya

9. Hicom-Glenmarie

10. Stadium

11. Persiaran Hishamuddin (U)

12. Section 14

13. SIRIM (Federal Highway BRT Line)

14. UiTM

15. i-City

16. Bukit Raja

17. Kawasan 17

18. Jalan Meru

19. Klang (KTM Komuter)

20. Taman Selatan

21. Sri Andalas

22. Tesco Bukit Tinggi

23. AEON Bukit Tinggi

24. Bandar Botanik 

25. Johan Setia (Depot)


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *